V&A Illustration Awards 2012 Shortlist

Luke Best: Chivalric Fiasco

Luke Best: Chivalric Fiasco

The V&A has revealed the fourteen artists shortlisted for its annual Illustration Awards. The awards are given to the best book and editorial illustration published in the UK each year and have this year been judged by an illustrious panel made up of fashion designer Orla Kiely, broadcaster and cultural commentator Emma Freud OBE and V&A Director of Design Moira Gemmill.

Orla Kiely said: “The world of illustration is so wide and varied that it is important to be able to stand out with your own individual style. This competition is the perfect platform for such talented illustrators to exhibit their diverse abilities and approaches to design.”

Daniel Clarke: Heygate Memories

Daniel Clarke: Heygate Memories

The shortlist has been chosen from over 1000 submissions from illustrators working in the UK. The panel selected their favourite entries from three categories: Book Illustration; Book Cover and Jacket Illustration; and Editorial publications. Winners of last year’s award have judged a fourth category for students work.

The winners are announced at the Illustration Awards Ceremony held at the V&A on Monday 11 June 2012. Each category winner is awarded £2000, with an additional £2000 given to the overall winner, representing some of the most substantial financial prizes for illustration in the industry.

Matthew Richardson: The Outsider

Matthew Richardson: The Outsider

The 2012 V&A Illustration Awards shortlist, is as follows:

Book Illustration

Laetitia Devernay for The Conductor (Chronicle Books)
Cathy MacLennan for Bunny Bunny Catkin (Boxer Books)
Rob Ryan for A Sky Full of Kindness (Hodder & Soughton)

Book Cover and Jacket Illustration

Petra Börner for Emma (Bonniers)
Matthew Richardson for The Outsider (The Folio Society)
Vicky White for Can We Save the Tiger (Walker Books)


Luke Best for Chivalric Fiasco (Harper’s Magazine)
Nick Lowndes for Small Businesses (Financial Times)
Stefano Morri for Henry’s Demons (BBC Radio Times)

Student Awards

Daniel Clarke for Heygate Memories
Faye Coral Johnson for Nonsensical Thoughts
Rachel Lillie for Born Fighting
Joe Lyward for Fear
Holly Mills for Hothouse

A display of original artwork and published work by shortlisted artists in all categories will be shown at the V&A from 11 June until 31 December 2012. Admission Free.

The Victoria and Albert Museum
Cromwell Road

Opening times 10.00 to 17.45 daily; 10.00 to 22.00 Fridays.

The V&A Illustration Awards were established in 1972 and previous winners include Quentin Blake, Ralph Steadman and Michael Foreman.

The V&A Illustration Awards 2012 are supported by the Enid Linder Foundation.

Comments are closed.